Whom did Australia defeat in the final of the 2015 ODI World Cup?

The 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup was a One Day International cricket tournament to decide the 11th Cricket World Cup. It was jointly hosted by Australia and New Zealand from 14 February to 29 March 2015, and was won by Australia. This was the second time the tournament was held in Australia and New Zealand, the first having been the 1992 Cricket World Cup.

The ICC announced the hosts for the previous World Cup, the 2011 competition, on 30 April 2006. Australia and New Zealand had also bid for the tournament and a successful Australasian bid for the 2011 World Cup would have seen a 50–50 split in games, with the final still up for negotiation. The Trans-Tasman bid, Beyond Boundaries, was the only bid for 2011 delivered to the ICC headquarters at Dubai before 1 March deadline. Considerable merits of the bid included the superior venues and infrastructure, and the total support of the Australian and New Zealand governments on tax and custom issues during the tournament, according to Cricket Australia chief executive James Sutherland.[9] The New Zealand government had also assured that the Zimbabwean team would be allowed to take part in the tournament after political discussions about whether their team would be allowed to tour Zimbabwe in 2005.

The tournament featured 14 teams, the same number as the 2011 World Cup, giving associate and affiliate member nations a chance to participate.

The format was the same as the 2011 edition: 14 teams take part in the initial stages, divided into two groups of seven; the seven teams play each other once before the top four teams from each group qualify for the quarter-finals.

On 29 January 2015, ICC reinstated the use of the Super Over for Cricket World Cup Final match if the match finished as a tie.

Picture Credit : Google

How many times have Australia won the ODI World Cup so far?

The Cricket World Cup (officially known as ICC Men's Cricket World Cup)[2] is the international championship of One Day International (ODI) cricket. The event is organised by the sport's governing body, the International Cricket Council (ICC), every four years, with preliminary qualification rounds leading up to a finals tournament. The tournament is one of the world's most viewed sporting events and is considered the "flagship event of the international cricket calendar" by the ICC.

The current format involves a qualification phase, which takes place over the preceding three years, to determine which teams qualify for the tournament phase. In the tournament phase, 10 teams, including the automatically qualifying host nation, compete for the title at venues within the host nation over about a month. In the 2027 edition, the format will be changed to accommodate an expanded 14-team final competition.

A total of twenty teams have competed in the eleven editions of the tournament, with ten teams competing in the recent 2019 tournament. Australia has won the tournament five times, India and West Indies twice each, while Pakistan, Sri Lanka and England have won it once each.

Picture Credit : Google

James Anderson joins Muttiah Muralitharan with 400-plus wickets in one country

In the five-match Test series between hosts England and India, a number of records were broken and created throughout.

In the third Test that England won handsomely, their lead bowler James Anderson became just the second bowler in Test history after Sri Lanka's Muttiah Muralitharan to claim 400 or more Test wickets in one country. In the fourth Test match, Anderson broke Sachin Tendulkar's record for most Test matches played in a single country.

Anderson's 400th wicket in England

James Anderson became just the second player in Test history to take 400 or more wickets in a single country when he dismissed India's Ajinkya Rahane in the second innings of the third Test.

It was Anderson's only wicket in the second innings of the Test match at Leeds, England that the hosts won by an innings and 76 runs.

Drawn into a defensive response to a good length ball, Rahane nicked it and wicketkeeper Jos Buttler did the rest, pouching it safely to help his compatriot reach a milestone.

In terms of most wickets taken in a single country, India's Anil Kumble, England's Stuart Broad and Australia's Shane Warne round up the top five behind Muralitharan and Anderson.

Kumble has taken 350 wickets in India in 63 matches, Broad has 341 dismissals in England in 85 games, and Warne has 319 wickets from 69 matches in Australia.

Among the top five, Anderson and Broad are the only active players currently.

After drawing level with Sachin Tendulkar in terms of most Test matches played in a single country during the third Test, James Anderson made the record his own in the fourth Test of the series. Unsurprisingly, the country in which players play most of their Test matches is the country they play for.

Picture Credit : Google

When Aussies won a fifth ODI World Cup

The 2015 ODI World Cup was the 11th edition of the tournament and it was held in Australia and New Zealand.

Australia finished second in the group stage behind New Zealand and the co-hosts progressed to the final after making their way through the quarters and the semis.

New Zealand were undefeated entering the final, but the final was the first match they were playing in Australia, having won all eight previous encounters in New Zealand.

They managed just 186 in the final, a target the Aussies chased down with ease, losing just three wickets in the process.

While Australia had won the ODI World Cup on four occasions before this, this was the first time they were lifting the trophy on home soil.

Did you know?

No team apart from Australia has won the ODI World Cup more than two times. Australia has won it on five of the 12 occasions the tournament has been held so far- in 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007 and 2015.

Home teams (where the final was held) have won the ODI World Cup on the last three occasions - in 2011 (India), 2015 (Australia) and 2019 (England).

Picture Credit : Google

Who won the Golden Boot in the 2014 FIFA World Cup?

Colombia forward James Rodriguez won the Golden Boot for finishing as the top scorer at the 2014 Fifa World Cup.

On 2 June 2014, James was named in Colombia's 23-man squad for the 2014 FIFA World Cup and assigned the number 10 shirt. In the team's opening match of the tournament, James set up the first two goals, scored a last-minute goal with a low shot to seal a 3–0 victory over Greece and was named man of the match by FIFA. In the second match, James continued his form by scoring with a header and setting up a second goal for Juan Fernando Quintero in a 2–1 victory over Ivory Coast and was once again elected as man of the match. In the final group stage match against Japan, James came on as a second-half substitute and assisted two Jackson Martínez goals before scoring the final goal in a 4–1 victory. At the end of the group stage, James was ranked as the best performing player at the tournament by FIFA.

On 28 June, James scored both goals to defeat Uruguay 2–0 at the Maracanã in the round of 16, taking Colombia to its first ever World Cup quarter-finals. These goals made him the first player to score in all of his team's opening matches since Ronaldo and Rivaldo in 2002. His volleyed opening goal was described as "one of the greatest goals the World Cup has ever seen" by opposing manager Óscar Tabárez, who also called James "the best player in the World Cup." Because of his performance against the Uruguayans, James was named by FIFA as man of the match for the third time in four matches. The volley was later voted as the best goal in the tournament by more than four million people on FIFA's website and won the FIFA Puskás Award for the best goal of the year. In the quarter-final against Brazil, he scored his sixth goal of the tournament, a penalty in Colombia's 2–1 defeat.

Picture Credit : Google